MoFPI in its new notification included Satara and Solapur in its onion clusters under Operation Greens’ and going to make it count by boosting the onion production in this quality yielding cluster.

Currently it is a pioneering scheme by the union government after including tomato, onion and potato and previously in another statement government extended the ambit to other vegetables in the foray.

onion clusters


For onions, the notification says that from Maharashtra along with Nasik, Ahmednagar, Jalgaon, and Pune, Satara and Solapur were also included. Besides, onion clusters includes Dewas, Indore, Ujjain and Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh, Gadag, Dharwad in Karnataka, Bhavnagar and Amreli in Gujarat and Nalanda in Bihar.

The tomato clusters includes Chittor, Anantpur in Andhra Pradesh, Shivpuri in Madhya Pradesh, Kolar and Chikkaballapur in Karnataka, Mayurbhanj and Konjhar in Odisha, Sabarkantha, Anand and Kheda in Gujarat, Ranga Reddy, Adilabad, and Vikarabad in Telangana and Coochbehar, North 24 Pargana, Nadia, Murshidabad, and Alipurduar in West Bengal.

And potato clusters identified includes Agra, Firozabad, Hathras, Aligarh, Farrukhabad, Kannauj, Meerut, Hapur, Bulandshahar, Badaun, Sambhal and Muradabad in Uttar Pradesh, Hoogly, Purba Bardhaman, Paschim Medinipur, and Bankur in West Bengal, Nalanda, Patna and Vaishali in Bihar, Banaskantha and Sabarkantha in Gujarat, Indore, Ujjain, Dewas, Shajapur and Chindwada in Madhya Pradesh, and Jalandhar, Hoshiyarpur, Ludhiyana and Kapurthala in Punjab.

MoFPI stated that all the guidelines for the scheme is in public domain already and launch for the rest of the agro-products is under consideration of committees, will be out soon.


A Zoophile scrambling the horizon for surreal subtleties, sheer poetic at heart and quite handy with life.

Write A Comment